>Halo: Combat Evolved remake coming soon

>

According to Joystiq a remake of Halo: Combat Evolved will be launch this holiday season for Xbox 360 with a complete visual overhaul.

The remake is allegedly being developed by New Jersey-based Saber Interactive, the company behind TimeShift and Namco’s upcoming Inversion.

Rumor is that the game won’t simply be a re-release of the 2001 game set at a higher resolution, but that it is being remade with entirely new art assets.

The game is expected to support 1080p resolution and 3D televisions. No details have emerged on multiplayer– yet, but the remake will likely feature online co-op (the original game supported two-player split-screen co-op).

video game colleges, video game development schools, game design colleges, video game design colleges, video game development courses, game design & development, video game design degree, video game design schools, video game development school, video game development schools, game development courses, game design degree, video game development degree, game development degree

About Zahk

I love video games :)
This entry was posted in halo, remake. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to >Halo: Combat Evolved remake coming soon

  1. Neuro says:

    >Wow, loved the orginal, looking forward to this.

  2. teampl4yer says:

    >hope it has achievements too!! Great blog by the way, video game fanatics are awesome!

  3. James says:

    >I can't WAIT :D!!!! It'll be amazing.

  4. BlogTroll says:

    >Great, I'll be at the store the day it releases!

  5. >Hey, nice post, looking forward to the next ones. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. TreeBranchez says:

    >Whoa really? That's great! Halo 1 was the best in the franchise, despite its copy-paste corridors etc ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Brightview says:

    >Thats cool. I might buy.

  8. Sokrates says:

    >Pretty much what Neuro said: the original was awesome, so can't wait for this!!

  9. Rondariel says:

    >Nice. Sounds pretty good.

  10. Old Liam says:

    >It's nice to see games getting an upgrade/makeover. It's a shame that you have to be a decent seller to get the treatment. There are many games I would love to replay with modern graphics.

  11. Dudemeister says:

    >I'm still waiting for a ps3 release…*cough*

  12. runewake2 says:

    >I don't see how this is legal. Bungie has said OK to this?

  13. andrew says:

    >Cool, summer here I come!

  14. Geekwanker says:

    >looking forward to this

  15. Christian says:

    >OMG, please put in multiplayer. It would revive Halo instantly. I can guarantee a huge community.

  16. >I always thought the first one had the best single player campaign by far. Looking forward to this. Just one question, will Masterchief be played by Daniel Craig this time?

  17. CRS says:

    >The original was my fav so maybe I'll be looking forward to this, but I'm surprised its considered outdated enough to need updated at all.

  18. Banacek says:

    >Halo and 1080p seems like a nice combo.

  19. Teutorix says:

    >Yeah the original was pretty awesome.

  20. Leon Smith says:

    >Oh god, I loved that game. Really hope it isn't ruined. Might have to dust off my old xbox 360 now then!

  21. Bassislv says:

    >this one is going to be good

  22. DEZMOND says:

    >they've been also planning a HALO movie, for a decade now, but it seems it won't happen any time soon ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  23. trippinkets says:

    >damn thats pretty cool

  24. temptation says:

    >great. i love this game. i think one of the best ever made

  25. Anon Reader says:

    >I hope they do this well – because I have a feeling they will bugger it up somehow…

  26. Tasty says:

    >This looks very promising. I can't wait to see what they do with this title. I loved Combat Evolved so much I hope they don't butcher it :|.

  27. >Namco doing Halo? I dont think so. Even when Ensemble made an RTS Halo Wars, that wasn't the best…

  28. G says:

    >Part of me is a bit sad over this – leave a classic a classic…don't go down the movie route of trading originality for sure fire success…I'm sure it'll rock though

  29. Rawr says:

    >nice post, keep it up

  30. >I don't understand how it's going to output 1080p when the 360 doesn't handle native 1080p.Cool idea though.

  31. Walkabeast says:

    >Hope it'll have online multiplayer. Invisible shotguns on hang em high…best thing evar

  32. rickysha says:

    >Awesome. Always wanted to revisit this game.

  33. Mr. Bloggity says:

    >I think I should try playing this game sometime!

  34. More Ducks says:

    >looks like an awesome game.

  35. thenitefalls says:

    >Sounds awesome but I don't have an xbox 360 ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  36. Reilly says:

    >waiting on halo 3 for pc

  37. Das Auto! says:

    >1080p would be pretty sweet

  38. Major.Mack says:

    >cool. now i just need another xbox ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  39. >maaan i remember playing halo 1 when it first came out. i was still a kid lol

  40. RP says:

    >waiting for the PC game..or someone to gift me an xbox ๐Ÿ™‚

  41. Right Guard says:

    >this seems like something they should wait for when they release a new console…

  42. anontcotrol says:

    >im not a fan of halo

  43. moha says:

    >Fuck yea! My Favorite Halo game of all!

  44. SilverSon says:

    >I think we can all agree Halo 1 was the best, amirite? In any event, this remake should be fun. ๐Ÿ˜›

  45. >1080P sounds awesome. I wonder if my untrained eye can tell the difference. Probably not. Still sounds cool, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  46. mrecan says:

    >oh it will be great alright

  47. gekomaster says:

    >Oh I remember playing Halo a couple of years ago, I loved it! this is great news

  48. >That is an amazing screen cap.

  49. AssortedNews says:

    >Hopefully it'll be a full remake versus just up-scaling it

  50. Dirty Flow says:

    >wow this is good news, excited

  51. Metatron says:

    >This is a great idea. Maybe it will inspire more remakes. I'd like to see Advent Rising redone!

  52. DoingKermit says:

    >money money money !!!Halo 2 was the best i think, loved that game !!<3

Leave a Reply

